Herbal Aromatherapy Perfume: Anne

This perfume blend is named after writer Anne Lamott. She writes with bald honesty about life’s struggles, has a deep faith in God, and describes the Northern coast of California in her books so beautifully that you can tell she has a great respect for Mother Nature. She believes “joy is the best makeup” – and I couldn’t agree more.

Lamott describes her struggles with self-esteem in many of her books. In one, she talks about her unruly, super curly hair, and how she finally made peace with it when she decided to turn the curls into dreadlocks. My personal favorite story about beauty is one that involves her late best friend, Pammy, described here:

…I got obsessed with something my best friend had said right before she died, when she was in a wheelchair, wearing a wig to cover her baldness, weighing almost no pounds, but very serene, very alive. We were at Macy’s. I was modeling a short dress for her that I thought my boyfriend would like. But then I asked whether it made me look big in the hips, and Pammy said, as clear and kind as a woman can be, “Annie? You really don’t have that kind of time.” I just got it. I got it deep in my being. And all of a sudden, two years ago, it began ringing through the chambers of my head again: You don’t have that kind of time.

Nothing puts beauty into perspective like that. And that’s why I love Anne Lamott so much.

The Anne blend is crisp, earthy, and pure sunshine. Both lemon and grapefruit oils are used to uplift the spirits in aromatherapy. Grapefruit also improves concentration and self-confidence. Ginger, a warming spice, fires up your inner heat, and gets you motivated!

Please remember that essential oils are potent plant substances. Please click here to read important information.

*Pictures above: Herbal Aromatherapy Perfume: Anne by Five Seed, Anne Lamott (AP Photos), Bird by Bird (Knopf Doubleday Publishing Group)