Go Fund Yourself!

Unfortunately, my Go Fund Me campaign for my e-book did not quite make it to the goal and the money that was raised will not be collected. (I keep joking with myself that Go Fund Me told me to go fund myself. LOL!) I could’ve done better with the whole thing, but I think I let the fears that have been surrounding this whole process sabotage me. I didn’t do a very good job in promoting it and…I’m ashamed to admit I didn’t even work on the book during the campaign. I can see how the universe would not want to support my bad behavior! {wink, wink}

Yesterday, when I realized I wasn’t going to make my goal, I decided to stop waffling and worrying about my lack of appropriate tools for making this book. All I need to do now is focus on the writing. It doesn’t matter if my computer crashes a million times while I’m working – I’m learning to diligently press the Save button and regularly back up the file on my jump drive. When the time comes that I need more supplies, more money, or whatever…they will come. Until then, I have to get to work and be productive!

skincare25

I do want to take a moment to thank the contributors to my campaign. It’s funny – I love crowd-funding because it’s so wonderful to feel like you are helping a stranger realize their dream. I’ve contributed to a few projects now and it was a thrill, each time. My hope was to find other like-minded strangers who would like to help me with my dream project. Instead, I ended up getting contributions from friends and customers. It was very humbling and I am very grateful for all of their support. That includes EcoGrrl, Rachael of Sellwood Soap, Callah, K.P., K.S. and the lovely Marcia of Marci Ann Designs. Many, many thanks to all of you. I can’t sufficiently express my gratitude, but I can at least say that your contributions have helped me keep the fires of this dream burning! Bless you, all!

So onward and upward! Now that summer school is coming to a close, I’m making a writing schedule for the summer. This book is my priority right now, above all the other business projects nagging at me. I am going to finish this! You may hear a little less from me on the blog, but I’ll make up for it with this amazing book, when it comes out!

6 thoughts on “Go Fund Yourself!

  1. here’s a strategy to crowdfunding that some friends of mine used. plan on contributing some of your own money if needed if you see you aren’t reaching your goal. some friends of ours did this – asked me and a few others to contribute again in amounts needed to reach the goal, as loans that they repaid quickly. it’s a way around the whole not reaching goal not getting any of the money.

    • @Julia: That is a good idea! Thank you! I think I was so far off from my goal this time that I never would’ve been able to make it – I should’ve been promoting it pretty hardcore but I had summer school going on and I’m not particularly good at networking. But I’m not worried right now – when the time comes, I’ll figure out a way to make it happen! Thank you, Julia!

Leave a Reply

