What You Had to Say

I have been getting more and more comments (both on the blog and via email) on the Resolve to Love Challenge as it moves through its fourth month. We’re definitely getting into some controversial territory! Because of some emails I received (very respectful emails, I might add, and thank you emailers for that!), I felt I had to try to be as clear as I could about this issue of not talking about our weight, and accepting ourselves exactly as we are, overweight or not. Hopefully, I was able to achieve that, at least to some extent. As I mentioned before, I’m still working this out for myself as I go through this challenge!

Anyway, I got so many amazing comments on this that I really wanted to share what some of you said. So here we go:

“…when I concentrate on my weight or ‘health’ I end up feeling like a failure and then giving up and hating my self. However when I spend my time liking my self and deciding to just be happy I eat much better and make far better health choices.”

“…I really thought I didn’t care anymore about the numbers (only about how I feel) but …the number on the scale had this scary effect on me: I wanted to see if I could get it even lower. Thank goodness my senses kicked and I reminded myself that my current health goals are far too important to sabotage with weight obsession, and I kicked that monster to the curb.”

“…wanting to have more muscular arms and not be sweaty when I get on the bus is not a bad thing in-and-of itself. If these things drive me to improve, to become healthier, to set goals, all’s the better. But, if these things cause me to dislike an aspect of MYSELF, that person deep down there that I should love and respect, THERE’s the problem.”

“I never know what to say when someone makes a comment to me about my weight. Like, ‘Oh you look like you’ve lost weight.’ I just stare back. I also had someone ask me what my workout schedule and diet plan is. Because I’m not usually in conversation with people who care about that stuff, I was taken off-guard. About 10 years ago when my weight was fluctuating more than it does now, I realized I didn’t feel flattered when someone said I looked like I’d lost weight. It made me wonder why they were concerned with my weight in the first place and if they thought I looked fat before. So, I decided to not even make weight a topic of conversation, and I’ve found I don’t even notice people’s weight shifts like I did before because it’s not even on my radar.”

Four years ago, I was ‘relatively’ happy with my weight and became sick. I found out that I had hypothyroidism. Throughout the last four years I have gained nearly 35 lbs. To be clear, I have lost and regained some of that weight as your thyroid is tricky to get working to its optimum levels. At this time, I am closer to 30 lbs overweight and try every day–with some days being more successful than others–to love myself. It is my belief that loving yourself they way you are is as difficult a journey as healing your thyroid!”

Another fascinating issue issue has arisen and I was able to finally understand the resistance to this idea thanks to a comment I received from EcoYogini, which I will discuss in the next RtL post. Stay tuned!

Leave a Reply

