A Sneak Peak

Being ready for change is an awesome feeling. Weeks, months or even years of procrastination can suddenly transform into explosive action. That’s exactly what happened to my studio. These last two years, not knowing whether or not I was going to move again, caused me to put very little effort into making myself a beautiful, organized space in which to work. And one day, I just broke. I realized it was so disrespectful to myself and my work to settle for a workspace that did little to help me maintain organization and nothing to inspire me.

Spring break came – a whole week off from my day job – and I made some major changes. I couldn’t believe how fast it happened once I realized I was ready. I bought two pieces of furniture – a small desk for craft work and sewing and a small dresser for my shipping materials. I lined the back of my black bookcase with osnaburg, which made it much prettier and more “finished.” I got some beautiful art for the walls, a DIY chalkboard, and a new “face” for my old bulletin board.

Now comes the slow part, I’m sorry to say. As much as I still want everything to be done NOW, there are a lot of little details to finish (like lining the drawers of the new desk), as well as some bigger details (like painting my old desk). I want to be able to show you the before and after pictures so badly, but I’m not at the “after” stage just yet.

In the meantime, here are a few sneak peeks:

Not a great shot of the "before" - you can't really see the inside of the bookshelf. But it was all black, until I added the beautiful fabric backing!

This old desk had ugly plastic handles which I replaced with these prettier metal pieces.