My Face on Honey

I’m so happy to have a guest post today by one of my favorite bloggers, EcoYogini! Here, she talks about using honey as a facial cleanser – something I have done many times in the past and find very effective! Enjoy!

I have always been a face product junkie. From those acne wipe circle thingys to using face wash, exfoliant, toner and moisturizer. I’ve never really had much face issues, until my twenties. All of a sudden my face hated me, so I spent a ridiculous amount of money on Aveda face products and more recently Eminence. I now have acne and very sensitive skin that flames bright red after even the most ‘sensitive skin’ proclaiming products.

Copyright: EcoYogini. (Photo used with permission.)

About six weeks ago my Eminence face wash ran out. Serendipitously, I had just read Yancy’s blog post about alternative face washes where she mentioned honey. I thought, what the eff, why not? I have local honey- if my face explodes I’ll stop using it. Six weeks later and it now has replaced almost exclusively my face washing routine. I thought I might be a little crazy, I mean how is this actually cleaning my face?

Copyright: EcoYogini (Photo used with permission.)

Then I read Crunchy Betty’s ‘Honey Face Wash’ challenge series. Hah!! I KNEW it!

Why would you want to wash your face with honey:

1. It’s CHEAP. No seriously, this was a deciding factor for me. I’m so tired of spending a jabillion dollars on my face wash that is usually filled with chemicals.

2. Honey is naturally antibacterial and antimicrobial. Lots of people use it as a preserving agent. This means that it naturally cleans out those acne creating nasties!

3. According to Crunchy Betty, it’s *slightly* drying so it will get rid of extra oil on your face. I have found differently- see my observations below.

4. It’s beautifully moisturizing, not too much and not too little.

5. Honey has beneficial enzymes, especially raw honey.

6. According to Crunchy Betty, Honey is good for all skin types!

7. Honey has healing properties which is great for acne or scarring.

8. It’s completely natural, no icky chemicals soaking in your skin!

Copyright: EcoYogini (Photo used with permission.)

You can find fabulous tips, advice and step by steps on Crunchy Betty’s Honey Challenge series- I highly suggest you take a little peak. I found her posts helpful, but I’ve kept it pretty darn simple. Here’s what I discovered as being the best routine for my face.

Feeling a bit like a huge crunchy granola, I cleaned out one of my small glass jars that used to contain locally made moisturizing lotion and poured in a whole bunch of local honey. Unfortunately, I’ve had some difficulty finding raw honey locally, although I will admit that I haven’t searched that hard.

I stuck the jar in the shower, since that’s where I wash my face. Every morning I unscrew the jar cap, and pour about a tablespoon of honey in my palm. I rub both hands together to spread the honey and in circular motions I massage the honey into my cheeks, nose, temple- just as I would my regular face wash. With the face cloth I wipe away the honey gently and… voila! That’s it!

What I was pleasantly surprised to notice:

1. My acne actually didn’t get worse. I haven’t noticed a magical improvement, I still get acne, but it definitely has not gotten worse and I may even go as far to say that it’s improving slightly.

2. My skin feels SO much better after using honey than when I periodically use my John Master’s Organics face wash that I purchased on a whim in Montréal. I use this face wash about once a week, just so it won’t go to waste, after which my face feels tight, dry and looks red. Honey NEVER does this. My skin on honey is soft, clean and not inflamed. It’s magical.

I’ll admit, I don’t just use honey in my face washing routine. I still use moisturizer, although I use much less and about once a week I use a fabulous gentle face scrub made from oatmeal and lavender. As soon as it runs out I’m going to try to make my own- the oatmeal is amazing for softening my skin. I would have never guessed.

As someone who has *never* in a million years used makeup remover, I used to just rub away with the face cloth (yes I know, so harsh on that delicate skin!), I wondered what to do about that pesky mascara and concealer on my eyes. About a week ago I found some jojoba oil I had lying around. Just to see, I put one drop on a Q-tip (you could use a felted square ), and it worked perfectly! Why in the world would anyone buy chemical laden makeup remover when jojoba oil works so well? Added bonus? Jojoba oil is gentle and light enough to moisturize that delicate skin around your eye.

I am so happy with my honey face wash, I can’t believe I didn’t know about it before. That said, I can’t speak for your skin. All I can say is that for this makeup wearing, combination and sensitive skin Yogini, honey has been THE solution. :)

13 thoughts on “My Face on Honey

  1. That sounds cool. I used to use all this stuff hoping to get rid of acne. Now I figured out what it was. I started eating paleo and my acne is literally gone. I know it was caused by stuff upsetting my digestion. It’s very clear that grains and sugar were the cause. Now I hardly ever even wash my face and when i do its just with water.
    I wanna try honey when I do wash though. Maybe it’ll be a nice treat!

  2. good readin’ !! btw this is a strange connection to the story but i just found out you can compost q-tips and that’s awesome as i haven’t been able to rid myself from buying those. as long as they are cardboard and not plastic ones, that along with other bathroom-related things like nail clippings and hair from your hairbrush, can go in the bin!! a cool list i discovered: http://www.plantea.com/compost-materials.htm

  3. I always use oil to remove my mascara (it also works for waterproof mascara). I’ve used baby oil (which I don’t use anymore because it’s a petroleum by-product) and olive oil, and both work equally well.

    Great post!

    • @Melanie: Yes, I love oil for makeup remover. I’ve been using jojoba or almond oil to remove eye makeup for a couple years and I have yet to find anything that works as well!

  4. I’d never really considered using honey before! It’s always the simple, basic things that work best isn’t it?….and ironically not well know because they are not marketable. Thank you for sharing – I too have sensitive, acne prone skin so I’ll have to try the honey. From one sensitive skin person to another, I have found pure blue chamomile oil (mixed with light cream or aloe vera) exceptionally helpful with outbreaks, so soothing and healing!

    Blessings

  5. So glad to see people enjoyed the post :) Also- I hope honey is helpful for others out there as well!
    @EcoGrrl: thanks so much for the q-tip link- strangely i totally have been anxious about that same thing!

Leave a Reply

