Five simple, cheap ingredients for eco-friendly cleaning

Copyright: Five Seed

Finding the safest green cleaning supplies can be confusing and expensive. Why not skip the label-reading and budget-crunching? Believe it or not, five inexpensive ingredients will meet the majority of your household cleaning needs:

1. Hydrogen peroxide
2. Water
3. Essential oil(s) of your choice
4. Vinegar
5. Baking soda

Vinegar
A 1:1 ratio of vinegar to water is perfect for cleaning mirrors, windows, or other glass. It leaves no streaks, and works better than the ammonia-based commercial glass cleaners. This mixture can also be used as a carpet stain remover. Even your laundry can benefit from this multifaceted product – one cup of undiluted vinegar in the rinse cycle will soften your clothing.

Baking Soda
Baking soda is a wonderful air freshener. Keep it in a bowl on your counter, or anywhere else that may need some freshening. It can also be sprinkled into carpets before vacuuming to absorb odors.

Baking Soda & Vinegar
When combined, these two ingredients make a powerful scouring agent. Simply sprinkle baking soda into the sink, toilet, bathtub and anywhere else that needs a good scrub, then spray vinegar over it, and scrub away. You can also pre-mix these ingredients into a paste, if you prefer, just before you are ready to use it. Pouring baking soda followed by vinegar into your drain can help it stay clean and unclogged.

Hydrogen Peroxide
For a natural mold-killer, fill a spray bottle with hydrogen peroxide. Spray this onto shower tiles and let it sit for an hour or more. Further, one cup of hydrogen peroxide added to the rinse cycle can get your whites whiter! If you want to disinfect your counters, use a 1:1 mixture of hydrogen peroxide and water with some antibacterial essential oils (tea tree, for example).

Don’t spend another minute trying to find toxin-free, inexpensive household cleaning products. Keep it simple and natural with these five easy-to-find items.

This was reprinted and updated from my article over at Examiner.

8 thoughts on “Five simple, cheap ingredients for eco-friendly cleaning

  1. Hi Yancy! Great post! I will definitely be using these recipes. I clean a lot with just soapy water. Works on hands, so I figure it works on everything else as well. We also use rags instead of paper towels to clean with.

    By the way, my technical support (Mark) is checking out the commenting issue. Bummer! I’m sure your comment was brilliant! I think we might switch to WordPress commenting.

    Have you read the Mnmlist blog? You might really like it. I was reading it today – all about minimalism, and it’s a really great blog.
    :) Melanie Jade

    • @Melanie: I think the commenting thing may be on my end – not sure. My computer literally doesn’t load the comment section on your blog. I will refresh and refresh and it will show the whole page every time – except the comments where it says Error. It’s weird!

      Anyway, that’s awesome – I do the same thing with my cleaning routine. Old rags, and these five things! It really works.

      And yes, I saw your link to Mnmlist on Twitter and checked it out – very cool!

  2. OUUU thank you for the Hydrogen peroxide suggestions!! I’ve been wondering what to do about the mold in our shower, and about helping some of my white stuffs :) Yay!

  3. i absolutely love this post. i’ve done it before and don’t know why i stopped. it might be because my husband took over cleaning our bathroom:)

    i know these are tried and true and i’ll get back to the basics.

    thanks for reminding me!

  4. you know i love the fizzy of the baking soda & vinegar in the drain but i never found it to actually help the drains, esp in my bathroom that regularly gets clogged. argh :(

    • @EcoGrrl: I have found it effective, but only once I dig out all the hair in the drain! Ewww! My long hair tends to get stuck in there (even though I use a drain filter thing in the shower), and once I do the disgusting job of pulling that out, the drains still are kinda gross and need help, so I drop a ton of baking soda down the drain and then add vinegar every half an hour for 2-3 hours. Then I let it sit for 12 hours without using it. Then I pour almost boiling water down the drain. After all that, LOL, it is clear! :)

Leave a Reply

