Six Month Anniversary Redesign

The six month anniversary for my store is just a few days away now. I can hardly believe how fast the time has gone – or how long it takes to learn all the ins and outs of Etsy!

I spent the month of May very seriously considering what I wanted to do with this shop, as I had hit a major plateau and felt that there was nowhere to go without some serious retooling. Part of my problem was hitting a creative brick wall.

I never liked my logo. I spent weeks and weeks on it, with the help of my kind brother, and when the opening date of my shop approached, I knew it was time to just take what I had and go for it, hoping I could tweak it later. I tend to be very stubborn about holding on to things that I feel are important. For instance, I was insistent on keeping the star-shaped seeds of the logo, because they represent something very important to me. I also wanted people to see them and think of an apple (pure, natural, simple) – though I kinda doubt that that’s the first thing that comes to people’s minds when they see this design! And yet, the months went on and on and despite tinkering with that design all this time, I have always had a small tug of dissatisfaction with the way it looked.

Not the look I wanted...the new logo will be unveiled very soon!

This past week, I decided it was time to let go of all the things I felt were essential to the design. Goodbye to the star-shaped seeds. Goodbye to the number 5, replaced by the word “five.” (Didn’t think about how confusing that would be when I first started…oops!) Suddenly, a logo naturally emerged within two hours of playing around with fonts and designs. And I love it. Unlike my first logo, which I disliked more and more with each passing day, I LOVE the new one. I try to create a world in my head for my creations, whether is it the design of a blog, something I’m writing, or my Etsy store. If I see one element, like a banner or logo, that gives me a peek into this world that I’ve envisioned, then I know I’ve done something right.

Unfortunately, not long ago I ordered 100 business cards with the old logo. Isn’t that the way things tend to go? But I will, of course, continue to use them until they are gone – no needless paper wasting here!

As for the product line, I am continuing to shape that and redevelop things. I had held on to the idea of beauty products for so long that I found myself boxed in. And as many of you know, I don’t believe in using much on the body – a little moisturizer, some lip balm. That doesn’t make for a very full shop! For a while, my creative sanctuary at 5 Seed was developing Sankalpa Scents – I LOVE aromatherapy, and really enjoy mixing new scents. But I didn’t want to end up with only a perfumery (not that there’s anything wrong with that – it just wasn’t enough for me).

One of my true loves is herbalism in all its forms. I have always wanted to create herbal remedies in the forms of creams, salves, and other such things. At this point, that is what I’ll be focusing on, though you can count on lip balms and Sankalpa Scents being staples of the shop. Further along in time, I’ll also be adding some up-cycled items to the shop as I acquire them.

As I transition into this new design and the next six months, I hope you will forgive the lack of consistent design in the shop. Again, I don’t waste paper, so I’m not going to throw away the labels on the items currently listed. I’m going to sell them as is, alongside new or restocked items that will have the new logo on them. Messy, I know, but please bear with me for the sake of saving paper!

And as a thank you for your support (and an incentive to move the old logo out of the shop) I’ll be reducing prices at the shop starting today. With a few exceptions, the items currently in the shop, with the old labels, will be 10% off.

Thanks for your support these past six months. I have been continually surprised and touched by all the people who have stood behind this store from the very beginning, financially, emotionally, and more. I wouldn’t still be here without your kindness. Thank you all!